Upcoming Events

October 5, 2020

UN HRC45 Side-Event: China Bans Faith for All Children

8:00 AM – 10:30 AM EST /
2:00PM-3:30PM CET
Register here

October 5, 2020

Date: Monday 5 October 2020
Time: 8:00-9:30AM EST

Jubilee Campaign UN Human Rights Council Side-event

Keynote speaker: Emilie Kao, attorney who has defended religious freedom for the last 14 years. Previously she worked at the United Nations.
Panel
E., Former Christian educator who fled China due to religious persecution
E., Christian survivor of religious persecution as a child in China
Sean Lin, Falun Gong survivor of religious persecution in China
Bob Fu, Founder and President, ChinaAid
Elfidar Iltebir, Secretary, Uyghur American Association
Peter Irwin, Senior Program Officer, Uyghur Human Rights Project
Kai Müller, Executive Director, International Campaign for Tibet

China through its current actions breaches the Convention on the Rights of the Child, specifically Articles 14 and 29. Jubilee Campaign’s side-event will focus on the testimonies of children who are victims and survivors of China’s persecution of children of faith, recognizing that, “The participation of children matters profoundly” and that improvements to the rights of the child are more likely to succeed when informed by their views.

“Every individual child is a rights holder in his or her own capacity as recognised in Article 14 of the Convention on the Rights of the Child not just through membership in a family or community.”

UN Special Rapporteur on freedom of religion or belief


Through the experiences and recommendations of survivors and those knowledgeable in the area, the event hopes to serve as a base to understand the widespread effects of China’s breaches to the Convention the Rights of the Child article 14 and facilitate steps forward for member states and UN bodies to address the violations.